How to configure generators without compiling O2

Dear all,

We use the fwmugen generator on GeneratorFactory.cxx to evaluate the MFT. However, to make changes on the event parameters we need to compile O2. This approach is cumbersome and prevents automations. I wonder if there is a better way of configuring the generators to change multiplicity, rapidity and pT ranges, vertex position, and so on without recompiling O2?

Thanks in advance,
Rafael

Hi @pezzi,

I am not an expert but what I did to have a variable multiplicity was to simply add it as an option in the SimConfig class. You can then get the information from the SimConfig object in the GeneratorFactory.cxx. The option can be passed to the simulation when you start it making automation easy.
This should work for all the properties you want.
Maybe its not the best way but for me it worked.

I hope this helps.

Cheers,
Thomas

Hi Thomas,

Thanks for pointing to SimConfig. The boxgen generator can be configured for 10 events with 100 forward muons with the following command:

o2-sim-serial -m MFT -e TGeant3 -g boxgen -n 10 --configKeyValues 'BoxGun.pdg=13 ; BoxGun.eta[0]=-3.6 ; BoxGun.eta[1]=-2.45; BoxGun.number=100'

Rafael

Correct. You could make a parameter in a similar way done for BoxGun and fetch the values in the GeneratorFactory.

Hi Sandro, all,

this proposal (thanks Thomas!) solves all but one issue. How do we add a realistic vertex distribution to the generation of the events? As far as I see, now all events are generated at the nominal zero.

thanks

guillermo

Hi Guilhermo,

I changed the GeneratorFactory and BoxGunParameter to provide the option to set the vertex position and the vertex range. It is implemented in the boxgunvertex branch of my fork and can be used as.

o2-sim -m MFT -e TGeant3 -g boxgen -n 10 --configKeyValues 'BoxGun.pdg=13 ; BoxGun.eta[0]=-3.9 ; BoxGun.eta[1]=-2.1; BoxGun.prange[0]=0.1 ; BoxGun.prange[1]=5 ; BoxGun.vertexXYZ[2]=-15 ; BoxGun.number=20'